As of March 13, 2013, the pending legislation in Springfield allows for those with CCW permits issued by another state to carry a concealed weapon in Illinois for 365 days following the bill becoming law. This will allow for people to practice their 2nd Amendment Right immediately, while the Illinois State Police gets underway implementing a system to issue permits to its citizens.
As a result, many people are rushing out to get the easiest out-of-state concealed carry permit: Utah's CCW permit. However, is the Utah concealed carry permit really the best option for an Illinoisan? I don't think so. Here is why...
According to Amendment 27 of House Bill 1155, the State Police will have to recognized out of state permits even after the 365 day period expires, but does NOT list Utah as one of the states to recognize. Rather, the legislation specifically lists Florida, among other states, as a state that has substantially the same qualifications for a CCW permit as we will have here in Illinois.
Therefore, getting a Utah concealed carry permit is a good idea, but it may serve you only for 365 days. The better option would seem to be to get a Florida concealed carry permit. So how do you go about that?
As long as you can pass a basic background check, Florida will issue you a concealed carry weapons permit if you demonstrate competency with a firearm. Although there are several ways to do this, the way that also coincides with the Illinois requirement from the pending legislation is to pass an NRA course taught by a certified NRA Firearms Instructor.
For information about upcoming Chicago area NRA Firearms Courses that satisfy this requirement, you can contact me at firstname.lastname@example.org .
More information is also available on my Facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/pages/Illinois-Concealed-Carry-Permit-Class/110104049176911?ref=hl